• globe


Institution of Awards in Recognition of Merit

Rashtriya Ayurveda Vidyapeeth has instituted various awards and fellowships in recognition of merit in Ayurveda.   

Award of Fellow of R.A.V.( FRAV)

and to felicitate eminent scholars and Vaidyas with Fellow of Rashtriya Ayurveda Vidyapeeth (FRAV) for their significant contribution for the progress of Ayurveda in the fields of education, research, literature and health care.

For achieving one of its objectives, the Vidyapeeth awards Fellowship to the eminent scholars of Ayurveda and practitioners of various traditional Ayurvedic techniques in recognition of their scholarly expertise and contribution in the field of education, research, patient care and literature. In the year 1992 the Vidyapeeth awarded 50 Foundation Fellowships to eminent Vaidyas. Thereafter, a maximum of 30 fellowships are being awarded every year. This is an honorary recognition and a felicitation with a citation, a shawl and a kalash/memento presented to each awardee during  the Convocation ceremony  of RAV. As per the rules of the Vidyapeeth, the total number of fellows at any time shall not exceed 300. Every year the Governing Body determines these fellowships on the basis of the bio-data of scholars. So far, 294 scholars have been awarded Fellow of Rashtriya Ayurveda Vidyapeeth (FRAV).

Award for popular and scientific writing in Ayurveda

In pursuance of its objective of recognition of merit,  Rashtriya Ayurveda Vidyapeeth has established  following awards  on yearly basis for popular and scientific writing in Ayurveda. These awards are instituted to promote the popular writing in ayurveda for common people in the common language as well as scientific writing in Ayurveda  for academicians and researchers in the scientific language. Initially the awards are started in following categories. 

Category A: Award for Popular Writing in Ayurveda

Two awards are instituted for popular writing in Ayurveda respectively in Hindi and English .

Each award carry a cash prize of Rs.10000/- , a citation and a certificate from RAV. These awards are given to a best piece of writing/ featured article appeared in any national daily, weekly/monthly or quarterly news paper/ periodical during the preceding calendar year. The published article should have a minimum length of 1000 words. 

Category B: Award for Scientific Writing in Ayurveda

This award is given in following three categories

  1. Student scientific writing award :isgiven to MD / PhD/ M Phil students of ayurveda for their published research work in a national /international scientific journal of repute. This award carry a cash prize of Rs. 20000/- , a citation and a certificate from RAV.
  2. Senior scientific writing award :is given to a faculty member, physician, independent researcher or practitioner who hashis scientific research published in a national/ international  scientific journal of repute. This award may carry a cash prize of Rs. 25000/- , a citation and a certificate from RAV.
  3. Scientific writing award for best book / monograph in Ayurveda : This award is given to the best monograph/ book on Ayurveda published during the preceding year. The book should contain a minimum of 100 pages.This award carry a cash prize of Rs. 50000/- , a citation and a certificate from RAV.